Introduction to the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics at Southern University of Science and Technology has been established since 2011. The Department’s commitment is to develop first-class education and top-notch research in physics. The Department of Physics has been granted authority to award bachelor's degree in Physics and Applied Physics. In addition, the Department has established post-doctoral workstations in 2019.

The Department has a current size of 48 academic staff, including 9 chair Professors, 8 Professors, 22 Associate Professors, 7 Assistant Professors and 2 Teaching Professor. There are 6 Academicians (including joint employment), 5 Distinguished Young Scholar, and 5 “Pengcheng” scholars. All members of our academic staff have study or work experience at top 100 universities in the world. The Department of Physics now offers 4 majors in condensed matter physics, computational physics, theoretical physics and optics, while setting up astrophysics physics, particle physics, biological and medical physics. The staff members are engaged in frontier researches in the fields of quantum transport and regulation, surface physics, materials physics, computational physics, condensed matter theory, quantum information and quantum computing、atomic, molecular and optical (AMO) physics.